Zoning Hearing Board


Board Members

  • Mark John, Chairman of the Board
  • Samuel Augustine, Vice Chairman
  • Albert Herr, Secretary 
  • Zachary Wisler 
  • Thomas J. Neafcy, Jr. 
  • Thomas J. Petrowski, Alternate


  • Matt Hovey, High Swartz, Zoning Solicitor

Applications Under Consideration

About the Board

The Zoning Hearing Board is a 5 member quasi-judicial board (5 members and 1 alternate) that has exclusive jurisdiction to hear appeals and render final decisions including but not limited to:

  • Requests for variances, special exceptions, and transfer of developmental rights
  • Appeal from determinations of the zoning officer
  • Challenges to the validity of any land use ordinance, procedural questions, or defects
  • Appeals from determinations of a municipal engineer or zoning officer with regard to floodplain issues